Is CardRatings a non profit organization?
Author: archive
Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 5007
Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 4:16 pm
Post subject: Is this a NON profit?
Christine Baker
Date: 4/28/2000 9:45 pm CDT
Traditionally, .org is reserved for NOT for profit organizations and others who are NOT commercial.
I have NO problem with commercial ventures making money off consumers, but it looks to me like "http://www.cardratings.org/" is in the wrong category.
Unless of course all the profits go towards a NON profit cause.
Just wondering because I found nothing about the tax status at http://www.cardratings.org/ and it's littered with more ads than any commercial credit sites I've seen.
Thanks,
Christine Baker
View our latest credit card ratings!
Author: archive
Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 5007
Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 4:17 pm
Board Monitor
Date: 5/2/2000 10:34 am CDT
Christine,
Thanks for your inquiry about our business structure. We are currently in the process of applying for non profit status. Although we are structured like a non profit, we are considered a "for profit" organization as of now. Our "for profit" status will hopefully change soon.
Although we originally relied on donations for financial support, we are now solely supported by advertisers/sponsors. We iniated this change because we did not want to continue to solicit donations from consumers or to charge fees for our service (such as ConsumerReports does). The only other alternative is to have site sponsors/advertisers. Please rest assured, though, that our advertisers have no influence on our ratings (please see our "Why We're Better Page" for more info.).
One other note...we invest much of the proceeds from advertisers "back into our site" (in the form of site enhancements/additions). We also donate partial proceeds to charities (our goal for 2000 is 5% of our revenues).
Hope this helps! If you have any more questions, please e-mail me directly.
Regards,
Curtis Arnold
Founder/PR Director
CardRatings.org
View our latest credit card ratings!
Author: archive
Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 5007
Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 4:18 pm
Jessica
Date: 5/2/2000 3:33 pm CDT
This site is DEFINITELY a FOR PROFIT website
View our latest credit card ratings!
Author: archive
Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 5007
Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 4:19 pm
Christine
Date: 5/2/2000 3:50 pm CDT
This is weird. Yesterday, there was THIS response here:
>>>>
>>>>------------------------
>>>>"Subject: RE: Is this a NON profit?
>>>>Author: Jessica
>>>>Date: 4/30/2000 6:48 pm CST
>>>>
>>>>This site is DEFINITELY a FOR PROFIT website. "
>>>>-----------------------
>>>>
>>>>hmmmm, where did it go?
>>>>
>>>>And where's the "official" answer?
>>>>
>>>>I'd appreciate one.
>>>>
>>>>Thanks, Christine
View our latest credit card ratings!
Author: archive
Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 5007
Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 4:19 pm
Christine Baker
Date: 5/3/2000 3:49 pm CDT
I wasn't doing drugs when I didn't see Jessica's message anymore.
It had been deleted, and after I inquired about the deletion, it was reposted.
I also had some correspondence with Curtis and found that in SPIRIT this is a FOR profit site. No voluteers, everybody gets paid, this is a business venture.
Christine Baker
View our latest credit card ratings!
Author: archive
Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 5007
Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 4:20 pm
Board Monitor
Date: 5/3/2000 6:14 pm CDT
Christine,
I inadvertently deleted you previous message. So sorry. I have reposted the message. By the way, we do have volunteers. Anyone interested can e-mail us at feedback@cardratings.org for more info.!
Regards,
Jackie Hughes
Board Monitor
CardRatings.org
View our latest credit card ratings!
Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 5007
Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 4:16 pm
Post subject: Is this a NON profit?
Christine Baker
Date: 4/28/2000 9:45 pm CDT
Traditionally, .org is reserved for NOT for profit organizations and others who are NOT commercial.
I have NO problem with commercial ventures making money off consumers, but it looks to me like "http://www.cardratings.org/" is in the wrong category.
Unless of course all the profits go towards a NON profit cause.
Just wondering because I found nothing about the tax status at http://www.cardratings.org/ and it's littered with more ads than any commercial credit sites I've seen.
Thanks,
Christine Baker
View our latest credit card ratings!
Author: archive
Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 5007
Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 4:17 pm
Board Monitor
Date: 5/2/2000 10:34 am CDT
Christine,
Thanks for your inquiry about our business structure. We are currently in the process of applying for non profit status. Although we are structured like a non profit, we are considered a "for profit" organization as of now. Our "for profit" status will hopefully change soon.
Although we originally relied on donations for financial support, we are now solely supported by advertisers/sponsors. We iniated this change because we did not want to continue to solicit donations from consumers or to charge fees for our service (such as ConsumerReports does). The only other alternative is to have site sponsors/advertisers. Please rest assured, though, that our advertisers have no influence on our ratings (please see our "Why We're Better Page" for more info.).
One other note...we invest much of the proceeds from advertisers "back into our site" (in the form of site enhancements/additions). We also donate partial proceeds to charities (our goal for 2000 is 5% of our revenues).
Hope this helps! If you have any more questions, please e-mail me directly.
Regards,
Curtis Arnold
Founder/PR Director
CardRatings.org
View our latest credit card ratings!
Author: archive
Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 5007
Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 4:18 pm
Jessica
Date: 5/2/2000 3:33 pm CDT
This site is DEFINITELY a FOR PROFIT website
View our latest credit card ratings!
Author: archive
Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 5007
Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 4:19 pm
Christine
Date: 5/2/2000 3:50 pm CDT
This is weird. Yesterday, there was THIS response here:
>>>>
>>>>------------------------
>>>>"Subject: RE: Is this a NON profit?
>>>>Author: Jessica
>>>>Date: 4/30/2000 6:48 pm CST
>>>>
>>>>This site is DEFINITELY a FOR PROFIT website. "
>>>>-----------------------
>>>>
>>>>hmmmm, where did it go?
>>>>
>>>>And where's the "official" answer?
>>>>
>>>>I'd appreciate one.
>>>>
>>>>Thanks, Christine
View our latest credit card ratings!
Author: archive
Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 5007
Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 4:19 pm
Christine Baker
Date: 5/3/2000 3:49 pm CDT
I wasn't doing drugs when I didn't see Jessica's message anymore.
It had been deleted, and after I inquired about the deletion, it was reposted.
I also had some correspondence with Curtis and found that in SPIRIT this is a FOR profit site. No voluteers, everybody gets paid, this is a business venture.
Christine Baker
View our latest credit card ratings!
Author: archive
Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 5007
Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 4:20 pm
Board Monitor
Date: 5/3/2000 6:14 pm CDT
Christine,
I inadvertently deleted you previous message. So sorry. I have reposted the message. By the way, we do have volunteers. Anyone interested can e-mail us at feedback@cardratings.org for more info.!
Regards,
Jackie Hughes
Board Monitor
CardRatings.org
View our latest credit card ratings!







0 Comments:
Post a Comment
<< Home